Canefields, Barbados Pocket Guide

National Honours

In November 1980 a local system was established to give Barbadians national awards and honours to show special recognition to citizens who distinguish themselves  in various fields during each year.


There are 3 types of honours that may be given:

1. The order of Barbados

2. Bravery Decoration

3. Services Medal of Honour


The system for each decoration is listed below:

I . The Order of Barbados

- in which there are four classes of awards



Knight or Dame of St. Andrew (KA) or (DA): for extraordinary and outstanding contribution in service to Barbados or to humanity at large



Companion of Honour of Barbados (CHB): for distinguished national achievement and merit



The Crown of Merit - which is made in two grades: the Gold Crown of Merit (GCM) and the Silver Crown of Merit (SCM): for high meritorious service or achievement in Science, the Arts, Literature, Sport, Civic duties or any other endeavour worthy of national recognition



The Barbados Service Award - which is made in two grades: the Barbados Service Star (BSS) and the Barbados Service Medal (BSM): for meritorious work in the civil, fire, military, police, prison or other protective services or in any similar field or endeavour


II . Bravery Declaration


The Barbados Star of Gallantry (SG) - for an act of conspicuous courage in circumstances of extreme peril



The Barbados Bravery Medal (BM) - for an act of bravery in hazardous circumstances


III . Services Medal of Honour

This is exclusively for members of the Barbados Defence Force, the Royal Barbados Police Force, the Barbados Fire Service and the Prisons Service, in recognition of long and faithful service.


Services Medal of Honour - 15 - 25 years' service.
1. Clasp and Services Medal of Honour - 25 - 30 years' service
2. Clasps and Services Medal of Honour - 30 - 35 years' service
3. Clasps and Services Medal of Honour - over 35 years' service


2019 BPG SunAds bit
2019 BPG SunAds imart